Siobhan

Smokin’ Halloween

Posted in life, work by Siobhan on November 1, 2008

So last Sunday I decided to go  to H & M to get some new clothes for work. As I was walking down main street, I had to pass the bingo hall. I walk passed said bingo hall at least once a day every day. Those assholes are out there blocking the sidewalk and smoking most of the time when I walk passed. I’m an ex-smoker myself and just like most ex-smokers I hate the smell. All of that aside, there are bigger reasons why these bingo-hallers annoy me. Blocking the sidewalk in a high traffic area is inconsiderate and annoying. While living in Taiwan and suffering from a bad case of “I miss Canada like crazy”, I mistakenly believed that Canadians were considerate people.  Now that I’m back here, I realize we are just as rude as the rest of the world and if we were as densely populated as most of the world, we’d be even worse. Anyway, on top of all of this, there are signs posted in front of the bingo hall telling them to please smoke in the back, where they have built them a covered smoking area. Finally, they are violating a city by-law, which states that smokers must not smoke within 6 meters, yes meters,  of any doorway, window, or ventilation. So, as I passed the bingo hall last Sunday, I reached up and covered my mouth. No big deal, just not wanting to breathe in their toxic shit. Just as I pass the last of them, some asshole yells, “It’s a free country we can do what we want.” I almost kept walking, but instead, I turned around and pointed at the city of Vancouver “no smoking sign” and informed him that he was violating a city by-law. After that everything degraded. Two of his buddies joined in and began saying things like, “It’s not like it’s poison. It’s just a smoke.” and “What about cars?” The final straw came when the three fifty somethings began taunting me asking what I was gonna do about it. By then I could see that my logic filed brain was no match for these grown men, who were basically regressing to a “I know you are by what am I?” point in their lives. The thing that really pissed me off was that I hadn’t said anything to them, only covered my mouth as I walked through their haze. So, I pulled out my phone so they could see what I was doing and began to walk away. First, I called information for the non emergency police number. The police referred me to the city, who I called right away. It being Sunday meant that I  left a message. I was very happy when the next day on my lunch break when I received a phone call from the city stating that they would be sending out an inspector to deal with this issue, which has apparently been ongoing.  And that’s my story.

Halloween was great. I’m glad I dressed up, even though few could guess who I was. I wish I had a kid to take out trick or treating. Pictures are from work.

Leave a Reply

